History of the Ghana Premier League (GHPL)

The Ghana Premier League (GHPL) is the top level football division of the Ghanaian football pyramid. The GHPL was created in 1956, after the Gold Coast Club Competition’s final season ended 1954.

The GHPL is organized by the Ghana Football Association. The Ghanaian football league is competitive and ranks moderately high compared to many other African football leagues. The GHPL was ranked as the 11th best in Africa by the IFFHS from 2001-2010 and 65th in the IFFHS’ Best Leagues of the World ranking.

The GHPL trophy has been dominated by two main clubs – Accra Hearts of Oak and Asante Kotoko. However both clubs have struggled in recent years that have seen Obuasi Ashantigold SC (2015) and Wa All Stars (2016) crowned champions.


Current GHPL clubs

The Ghana Premier League consists of 16 clubs that play each other at home and away in 30 rounds of matches to determine their position in the league table. The current clubs in Ghana’s top flight football league are as follows:

Clubs Stadium Location Stadium capacity
Aduana Stars Agyeman Badu Stadium Dormaa Ahenkro 5,000
All Stars Wa Sports Stadium Wa 5,000
Asante Kotoko Baba Yara Stadium Kumasi 40,528
AshantiGold Len Clay Stadium Obuasi 20,000
Bechem United Nana Gyeabour’s Park Bechem 5,000
Berekum Chelsea Berekum Sports Stadium Berekum 10,000
Dreams Dawu Sports Stadium Accra 10,000
Ebusua Dwarfs Cape Coast Sports Stadium Cape Coast 15,000
Hearts of Oak Accra Sports Stadium Accra 40,000
Inter Allies Tema Sports Stadium Tema 10,000
Liberty Professionals Dansoman Park Dansoman 2,000
Medeama TNA Park Tarkwa 12,000
New Edubiase United Len Clay Stadium Obuasi 20,000
Sekondi Hasaacas Sekondi-Takoradi Stadium Sekondi-Takoradi 20,000
Techiman City Ohene Ameyaw Park Techiman 2,000
WAFA Sogakope Stadium Goma Fetteh 1,000

GHPL Stadiums

The Ghana Premier clubs each have their own stadiums. Accra Hearts of Oak and Asante Kotoko have the largest stadiums – Accra Sports Stadium and Baba Yara Stadium – both with about 40,000 seats on game day.

WAFA Academy have the smallest stadium in the GHPL. Sogakope Stadium is an intimate venue with 1,000 seats.


Ghana Premier League (GHPL) Champions

Eleven clubs have won the prestigious Ghana Premier League title at least once. Kotoko and Hearts have won it 43 times between them. The third spot is occupied by Ashanti Gold who have won it only 4 times. The statistics show that Hearts and Kotoko have dominated the league since its birth and are therefore the two largest football clubs in Ghana.

Club City / Region Titles Last Title
Asante Kotoko Kumasi, Ashanti 23 2013/14
Hearts of Oak Accra, Greater Accra 20 2008/09
Ashanti Gold (Goldfields) Obuasi, Ashanti 4 2015
Great Olympics Accra, Greater Accra 2 1974
Eleven Wise Sekondi, Western 1 1960
Real Republicans Accra, Greater Accra 1 1962/63
Mysterious Dwarves Cape Coast, Central 1 1966
Sekondi Hasaacas Sekondi, Western 1 1977
Aduana Stars Dormaa Ahenkro, Brong-Ahafo 1 2009/10
Berekum Chelsea Berekum, Brong-Ahafo 1 2010/11
Wa All Stars Wa, Upper West 1 2016


Contributors: Kwame Osei